Japan-ASEAN Relations

September 30, 2019


 The Association of South East Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established with the signing of the Declaration of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Bangkok Declaration). The five original nations are Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore, the Philippines and Malaysia followed by Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, and Cambodia. ASEAN serves as a regional cooperative organization composed of ten Member States. ASEAN has experienced rapid economic growth in the last ten years and is expected to play a role as a centre of growth that is open to the world.