Foreign Policy

September 27, 2022

1. Japan-Australia-India-U.S. (Quad)

Picture of cooperation between Japan, USA, Australia and India

 Japan, Australia, India, and the U.S. share fundamental values and are committed to strengthening a free and open international order based on the rule of law. The four countries have been promoting practical cooperation in various fields, including vaccines, infrastructure, climate change, and critical and emerging technologies, to realize a "Free and Open Indo-Pacific (FOIP)". The four countries have also concurred on the importance of making positive contribution to the region.

2. Background of the Quad

Photo of In-Person Leaders’ Meeting held on September 2021. In-Person Leaders’ Meeting (September 24, 2021, at Washington DC)
Photo of Foreign Ministers’ Meeting held on February 2022. Foreign Ministers’ Meeting (February 11, 2022, at Melbourne)
  • 2004.12 In the aftermath of the Earthquake off the Coast of Sumatra and Tsunami Disaster in the Indian Ocean, Japan, Australia, India and the U.S. formed a Core Group to lead the international community's support.
  • 2007.5 Quad officials held a meeting for the first time. Senior officials Meetings and other meetings have been held on a regular basis since November 2017.
  • 2019.9 The first Foreign Ministers’ Meeting in New York on the occasion of the UN General Assembly.
  • 2020.10 The second Foreign Ministers' Meeting in Tokyo, ( Foreign Ministers also held a telephone meeting in February 2021).
  • 2021.3 Leaders’ Video Conference.
  • 2021.9 In-Person Leaders’ Meeting.
  • 2022.2 In-Person Foreign Ministers' Meeting
  • 2022.3 Leaders’ Video Conference.
  • 2022.5 In-Person Leaders' Meeting.
  • 2022.9 In-Person Foreign Ministers' Meeting
Back to Foreign Policy