Japan and ASEAN Pop Stars
Dream Concert 2003 J-ASEAN POPs in Yokohama

As a part of commemorative events for the ASEAN-Japan Exchange Year 2003, the 2003 J-ASEAN POPs concert will be held in Yokohama (organized by the Japan Foundation).

As a J-ASEAN POPs Project, a theme song has been composed for the ASEAN-Japan Exchange Year. The theme song, co-written by Japanese and Singaporean artists, and arranged in their own ways by their own languages, is song by top artists of Japan and the ten ASEAN countries sing. The concept and aim of J-ASEAN POPs is to find synergy among the diverse cultures of Japan and the ASEAN countries and to bring about a sense of togetherness and community among a wide-range of people who support it, through exchanges in popular music.

The Yokohama concert will feature composer of the image song Kazufumi Miyazawa (THE BOOM), lyricist Dick Lee (from Singapore), as well as Chika Yuri singing the Japanese version of the image song, other Japanese artists, and ten pop stars and groups from all of the ASEAN countries singing the theme song. It will be a dream concert that will break through all language barriers.


Date: (Sunday) December 21, 2003; Doors open: 16:00; Concert begins: 17:00
Venue: PACIFICO Yokohama, National Convention Hall
Minato-mirai 1-1, Nishi-ku, Yokohama; Tel: 045-221-2155
Performers: (Japan) THE BOOM, You Hitoto, INSPi, Leonard Eto, Chika Yuri, Hiroshi Takano, Hideki Kurosawa, etc.
(Brunei) Hans Anwar & Lo'Ryder
(Cambodia) Preap Sowat
(Indonesia) AB Three
(Laos) Alexandra
(Malaysia) Siti Nurhaliza
(Myanmar) Lay Phyu & Iron Cross
(Philippines) Jolina Magdangal
(Singapore) Tanya Chua
(Thailand) Briohny
(Viet Nam) Lam Truong, and others.

Inquiries about the concert: The Japan Foundation, Performing Arts Division; Tel: 03-5562-3530

Back to Index