Women's Empowerment and Gender Equality

August 28, 2015

On August 28, Mr. Shinzo Abe, Prime Minister of Japan, received a courtesy call from groups of “The World Assembly for Women: WAW! 2015” (Groups 3 through 6 [Government Personnel of Asia, Non-Government Personnel of Asia, Oceania & Latin America, and Middle East & Africa]), which consist of the participants from overseas including the heads of international organizations. The overview of the meeting is as follows.

1. At the start of the meeting, Prime Minister Abe conveyed his appreciation to the attendees for their participation in the Assembly. Based on “WAW! for All,” the theme of this year’s “WAW!” symposium, he called for the Group members to consider ideas together with men and women of various standpoints and age groups and share their wisdom in order to jointly make reforms to society. He also called for the members to utilize the WAW! symposium as an opportunity to develop networks connecting the attendees.

2. In response, the Group members expressed their congratulations on the holding of the symposium, and made a series of comments praising Prime Minister Abe’s initiatives to promote the advancement of women. Furthermore, many of the Group members conveyed their gratitude for Japan’s support, and stated that they intend to further develop relations with the Government of Japan going forward based on the women’s issues raised in the agenda of the symposium.

[Reference] Group members attending the courtesy call

[Group 3]

Pany Yathotou, President, National Assembly of the Laos PDR
Ing Kantha Phavi, Minister of Women’s Affairs, Kingdom of Cambodia
Myung Ja Kim, Chairperson of the Center for Women in Science, Technology and Engineering, Republic of Korea
Dunya Maumoon, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Maldives
Meng Xiaosi, Vice-President and Member of the Secretariat of All-China Women’s Federation
Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan, Viet Nam Communist Party Politburo Member, Vice President of the National Assembly of Viet Nam
Pham Thi Hai Chuyen, Minister of Labour, War Invalids and Social Affairs of Viet Nam
Cecile Mae Morantte-Ocado, Municipal Planning & Development Coordinator (MPDC), Local Government Unit Tanauan, Leyte, Republic of the Philippines
Rosy Senanayake, Former State Minister of Children’s Affairs, Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
Sodnomzundui Erdene, Minister for Population Development and Social Protection, Member of Parliament, Mongolia

[Group 4]

Fahima Aziz, Former Vice Chancellor of the Asian University for Women
Simran Lal, CEO, Good Earth
Nita Yudi, President, Indonesia Business Women’s Association
Luna Shamsuddoha, Chairman, Dohatec New Media
Sonia Singh, Editorial Director, NDTV (New Delhi Television)
Teresita Sy-Coson, Vice Chairperson, SM Investments Corporation, Chairperson, BDO Unibank, Inc.
Tin Tin Win, Writer

[Group 5]

Michaelia Cash, Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women, Commonwealth of Australia
Daisy Alik-Momotaro, Secretary, Ministry of Internal Affairs, Republic of the Marshall Islands
Dennis P. Momotaro, Senator of the Parliament, Former Minister of Finance, Former Minister of Transportation and Communication, Republic of the Marshall Islands
Elizabeth Broderick, Sex Discrimination Commissioner, Commonwealth of Australia
Maria Teresa Kasuga, President of the Board, Liceo Mexicano Japonés (Japanese-Mexican School in Mexico)
Martin Parkinson, Former Secretary of the Treasury, Commonwealth of Australia; Member of Male Champions of Change

[Group 6]

Billon Jean-Louis Eugene, Minister for Commerce, Republic of Côte d’Ivoire
Nadia Al-Sakkaf, Minister of Information, Republic of Yemen
Ruth Arnon, President, The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Hanaa Edwar, Co-Founder of Iraqi Al-Amal Association & Iraqi Women Network
Rula Ghani, First Lady, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
Ghassan Hillow, 2nd Year Business Administration Student, University of Jordan
Pernilla Ironside, UNICEF State of Palestine, Chief of Field Office – Gaza
Margaret Kenyatta, First Lady, Republic of Kenya
Jeanine Mabunda, Personal Representative of the Chief of State of DRC for the Fight against Sexual Violence and Child Recruitment, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Muna Abu Meizar, 4th Year Pharmacy Student at Hebron University in Palestine
Onyeka Onwenu, Director General, National Center for Women Development
Anne Désirée Ouloto, Minister of Solidarity, Family, Women and Children, Republic of Côte d’Ivoire

Back to Women's Empowerment and Gender Equality