Nuclear Disarmament and Non-Proliferation

December 9, 2023
Prime Minister KISHIDA and Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs FUKAZAWA attended the closing session

On December 8 and 9, the third meeting of the International Group of Eminent Persons for a World without Nuclear Weapons (IGEP) was held in Nagasaki. A total of 14 members attended the meeting, including Chair SHIRAISHI Takashi, Chancellor of the Prefectural University of Kumamoto, and two other Japanese members, as well as 11 foreign members including those from both nuclear-weapon States and non-nuclear-weapon States (one foreign member participated virtually and there was one absent member.). In addition, two political leaders – the Rt Hon. the Lord Browne of Ladyton, Member of the House of Lords of the United Kingdom (former Secretary of State for Defence), and Ambassador Amina Mohamed, Former Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kenya (virtual participation), Dr. TOMONAGA Masao, Honorary Director of the Japanese Red Cross Nagasaki Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Hospital, in the capacity of an expert from the host city, were in attendance. On the part of the Government of Japan, Special Advisor to the Prime Minister ISHIHARA Hirotaka attended the opening session on December 8, and Prime Minister KISHIDA Fumio and Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs FUKAZAWA Yoichi attended the closing session on December 9, respectively. The participants held frank and candid discussions. Furthermore, video messages were offered by four political leaders: H.E. Ms. Michelle Bachelet Jeria, former President of the Republic of Chile, H.E Mr. Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Türkiye, the Hornable Sam Nunn, former United States Senator, and the Honorable John F. Kerry, United States Special Presidential Envoy for Climate.

  1. In the afternoon of December 8, Special Advisor to the Prime Minister Ishihara delivered Prime Minister Kishida’s opening address on his behalf while also offering the welcoming remarks at the opening session. This was followed by the video messages from three political leaders: former Chilean President Bachelet, former Turkish Foreign Minister Çavuşoğlu, and former U.S. Senator Nunn, along with the opening remarks virtually offered by former Kenyan Foreign Secretary Mohamed. Then each IGEP member and Honorary Director Tomonaga delivered their opening remarks.
  2. Through the four sessions over the two-day meeting, the IGEP members discussed in depth challenges in promoting nuclear disarmament from today’s perspective, based on the current international situation and security environment surrounding nuclear disarmament, while also having candid discussions regarding priorities on the nuclear disarmament front and how to advance future discussions in the IGEP. On December 9, Lord Des Browne (former U.K. Secretary of State for Defence) attended the meeting in person as a political leader.
  3. In the afternoon of December 9, Prime Minister Kishida attended the closing session after being briefed by the IGEP members on their discussions. In the session, following the video message by U.S. Special Presidential Envoy for Climate Kerry, Prime Minister Kishida stated that [the significance of the IGEP lies in renewing our shared determination to ensure that Nagasaki is the last place to suffer an atomic bombing through candid discussions, that from this viewpoint, nothing is more valuable than the fact that the IGEP members have deepened their understanding of the realities of the atomic bombing, and that he will continue to demonstrate strong leadership toward a world without nuclear weapons, while also taking into account the sage views of the IGEP.
  4. In the morning of December 8, the IGEP members also deepened their understanding of the realities of the atomic bombing through attentively listening to a testimony given by Mr. TSUIKI Shohei, who suffered the atomic bombing in Nagasaki at the age of 18. The members also offered flowers at the Peace Park and made a visit to the Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Museum and the former Shiroyama National School Building. In addition, the IGEP members held dialogues with Hibakusha and civil society, respectively. In the evening of December 9, the IGEP members attended a dinner hosted by Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs Fukazawa and had an exchange of views in a friendly atmosphere.
  5. Regarding the future activities of the IGEP, the meeting decided that the IGEP will hold two meetings next year to compile recommendations in the run-up to the 2026 NPT Review Conference. The next meeting (the fourth meeting) is expected to be organized around spring of next year upon taking into account the schedules of the IGEP members.
  6. Prime Minister Kishida held short conversations with former Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty and Lord Des Browne (former U.K. Secretary of State for Defence), respectively, and concurred to continue to work together toward a world without nuclear weapons.

[Reference 2] International Group of Eminent Persons for a World without Nuclear Weapons (IGEP)

  • (1) Background and Objectives
    In January 2022, in his policy Speech to the Diet, Prime Minister Kishida announced the establishment of the IGEP in which participants from both nuclear-weapon States and non-nuclear-weapon States, as well as those from countries participating and not participating in the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, will exchange ideas and thoughts beyond their respective national positions and engage in candid discussions concerning a concrete path towards the realization of a world without nuclear weapons.
  • (2) 15 Members of the IGEP

[In-person participation]

Shiraishi Takashi (Chair) Chancellor, Prefectural University of Kumamoto
Angela Kane Former Under-Secretary-General and High Representative for Disarmament Affairs of the United Nations
Rose Gottemoeller Former U.S. Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security Affairs
Takamizawa Nobushige Visiting Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, the University of Tokyo
George Perkovich Vice President for Studies at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Ian Anthony Scientist, Department of Defence Analysis, Security Policy Section, Swedish Defence Research Agency (FOI)
Bruno Tertrais Deputy Director, Foundation for Strategic Research
Raden Mohammad Marty
Muliana Natalegawa
Former Minister for Foreign Affairs of Indonesia
Manpreet Sethi Distinguished Fellow, Centre for Air Power Studies (CAPS)
Akiyama Nobumasa Dean, School of International and Public Policy, Hitotsubashi University
Tanya Ogilvie-White Research Director, Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (APLAN)
Anton Khlopkov Director of Center for Energy and Security Studies (CENESS)
Tong Zhao Senior Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; Visiting Research Scholar, Princeton University

[Virtual participation]

Gustavo Zlauvinen           President of the 10th NPT Review Conference


Dina Kawar                      Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to the United State
Back to Nuclear Disarmament and Non-Proliferation