Press Releases

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Governors Invited to Japan

February 16, 2024
Photo session
(Photo) State Minister for Foreign Affairs TSUJI Receives a Courtesy Call from Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency

On February 16, commencing at 5:15 P.M. for approximately 20 minutes, Mr. TSUJI Kiyoto, State Minister for Foreign Affairs, received a courtesy call from five Governors (India, Argentine Republic (current Chairman of the IAEA Board of Governors), Burkina Faso, Australia, People's Republic of Bangladesh) of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), who are visiting Japan. The overview of the meeting is as follows:

  1. At the beginning, State Minister Tsuji welcomed the Governors to Japan. While introducing Japan’s efforts in the IAEA especially those in the field of the promotion of peaceful uses of nuclear energy, he stated that Japan will continue to such efforts which contribute to resolve the issues such as in field of environment and medical service. In addition, Mr. Tsuji explained the discharge of ALPS treated water into the sea and Japan’s response to the nuclear issues of North Korea and expressed his hope to continue the close cooperation with the IAEA and its Governors.
  2. In response, the IAEA Governors expressed their gratitude for the invitation to Japan, stating that they were able to deepen their understanding of Japan’s efforts in areas such as peaceful uses of nuclear energy and nuclear safety. Also, they expressed their hope to collaborate with Japan in the IAEA.
(Reference1) International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

The IAEA, as one of its main objectives, has been promoting the peaceful uses of nuclear energy and its applications in the fields of medicine, environment, and food security, as well as conducting various technical cooperation activities for developing countries. The peaceful uses of nuclear energy has been attracting more and more attention in recent years as a means of contributing to the resolution of global issues and the achievement of the SDGs.

(Reference2) IAEA Governors

The IAEA designates and elects 35 countries as the members states of the Board of Governors, and the Ambassadors to Permanent Representative of those states to the International Organizations in Vienna serve as members of the Board. The Board of Governors consists of the designated member states (advanced nuclear nations, including Japan) and elected members (two-year terms).

Back to Press Releases