Press Releases

The 13th Japan International MANGA Award Winner Announcement

December 11, 2019

1. The Japan International MANGA Award is given by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to MANGA artists who have contributed to the promotion of MANGA culture overseas and international cultural exchanges through MANGA. This year marks its 13th anniversary and we have received 345 entries from 66 countries and regions.

2. Following the selection process carried out in cooperation with the Association of MANGA Publishers, and the selection committee of the Award led by Ms. SATONAKA Machiko (Manga artist), a total of 15 winners, including one Gold Award and three Silver Award winners were chosen.

3. The ceremony for the 13th Japan International MANGA Award organized by the Foreign Minister will be held in Tokyo next February 18th with the participation of the Gold and Silver winners.

4. Winners

(1) Gold Award

  • Title of Work: Piece of Mind
  • Artist: Mr. Guy Lenman (Israel)
  • Original author: Mr. Nimrod Frydman (Israel)

(2) Silver Award

  • Title of Work: My little kitchen in summer season
  • Artist: Ms. Pitsinee Tangkittinun (Thailand)

  • Title of Work: Korokke and the girl who said no
  • Artist: Mr. Jonatan Cantero (Spain)
  • Original author: Mr. Josep Busquet (Spain)

  • Title of Work: YE
  • Artist: Mr. GUILHERME PETRECA (Brazil)

[Reference 1:Japan International MANGA Award]

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs founded the Japan International MANGA Award in 2007 for the purpose of expanding international exchange and mutual understanding through world-famous MANGA culture.
This award aims to honor MANGA artists who contribute to the development of MANGA culture in the world.
More informationOpen a New Window

[Reference 2:Application]

There were 345 entries from 66 countries and regions this year. Countries and regions with most entries are Taiwan (1st: 46 entries), China (2nd: 33 entries), Thailand (3rd: 29 entries).

[Reference 3:Members of the Jury of the Award]

Ms. SATONAKA Machiko, Manga artist (chairperson)
Ms. IPPONGI Ban, Manga artist
Mr. KUMATA Masafumi, Publisher
Mr. FUJITA Tsutomu former Publisher
Mr. MIURA Mitsuru, Manga artist

[Reference 4:Members of the Executive Committee of the Award]

Mr. MOTEGI Toshimitsu, Minister for Foreign Affairs (chairman)
Ms. SHIRAISHI Saya, Professor emeritus, Tokyo University
Mr. SUGIYAMA Kotaro, President, LIGHTPUBLICITY Co. Ltd.,
Mr. Frederik L. SCHODT, American translator, interpreter and writer
Mr. YOKOTA Kiyoshi, Auditor, SHOGAKUKAN Co. Ltd.,
Mr. ANDO Hiroyasu, President, Japan Foundation

Back to Press Releases