Press Releases

Visa Fee Exemption for Foreigners Visiting Three Tohoku Prefectures (Extension)

March 18, 2016

1. As a reconstruction assistance measure for three Tohoku Prefectures (Iwate, Fukushima, and Miyagi Prefectures), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) provided an exemption from the visa fee for foreigners who visit these three Prefectures (PDF)別ウィンドウで開く for a five-year period from November 2011 (through March 31, 2016). MOFA has decided to continue the exemption from April 1, 2016 as well.

The implementation period is set at the next five years in line with the “Reconstruction and Revitalization Period” under the Basic Policy on Reconstruction.

2. It is expected that an extension of this measure will contribute to a rise in the number of foreigners visiting the affected areas and give further support to the reconstruction of the affected areas.

Back to Press Releases