Press Releases

Signing of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Agreement

February 4, 2016

1. On February 4, Mr. Shuichi Takatori, State Minister of Cabinet Office, who was dispatched as the special envoy of the Government of Japan, signed the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Agreement along with representatives from the other 11 participating countries, in Auckland, New Zealand.

2. The TPP Agreement promotes the liberalization and facilitation of trade in goods and services and investment in the Asia-Pacific region and establishes new 21st century rules in a wide range of areas, such as intellectual property, electronic commerce, state-owned enterprises, and the environment. The TPP Agreement would not only promote economic growth in the Asia-Pacific region, including Japan, but also further strengthen relations and help share prosperity with the countries in this region through building a new economic order, and thus has substantial strategic significance for contributing to the peace and stability of the region.

(Reference 1)
Negotiations for the TPP Agreement started in 2010, and the number of participants gradually increased to a total of 12 countries (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States, Viet Nam, and Japan). An agreement in principle was reached at the TPP Ministerial Meeting held in Atlanta, United States, in October 2015.

(Reference 2)
The text of the TPP Agreement (original English textOpen a New Window and provisional Japanese translationOpen a New Window) are available on the web page of the Cabinet SecretariatOpen a New Window.

Back to Press Releases