Press Releases

Foreign Minister Kono Meets with the Deputy Prime Minister of The Bahamas

November 12, 2018
Foreign Minister Kono Meets with the Deputy Prime Minister of The Bahamas
Foreign Minister Kono Meets with the Deputy Prime Minister of The Bahamas

 On November 12, commencing at 5:35 p.m. for approximately 15 minutes, Mr. Taro Kono, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan, held a meeting with Hon. Kevin Peter Turnquest, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas, who is visiting Japan. The overview of the meeting is as follows.

  1.  At the beginning, Minister Kono welcomed Deputy Prime Minister Turnquest’s first visit to Japan and conveyed his congratulations on the opening of The Bahamas Maritime Office in Tokyo. Minister Kono stated that Japan hoped to further strengthen bilateral and Japan-CARICOM relationships with The Bahamas, an important partner. In response, Deputy Prime Minister Turnquest stated that The Bahamas expressed appreciation to the long-standing cooperation with Japan, and that we would hope to strengthen ties with Japan to open the Maritime Office and start exchanging tax information automatically.
  2.  The two ministers exchanged views regarding cooperation in international arena on issues such as North Korea, and shared the view on deepening their cooperative relationship.
  3.  Ahead of the meeting, the two ministers exchanged notes verbales for the entry into force of the Protocol Amending the Japan-Bahamas Tax Information Exchange Agreement.

 [Reference] CARICOM (The Caribbean Community)
 (1)CARICOM was established in 1973 based on the Chagaramas Agreement (this year marks the 45th anniversary). The Secretariat is located in Guyana.
 (2)CARICOM is a regional organization with the objectives of advancing regional economic integration, enhancing coordination of foreign policies, and encouraging cooperation in areas such as health and medical care and education.
 (3)Member states are the following 14 countries and 1 region: Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Montserrat (British overseas territory)

Back to Press Releases