1997 Diplomatic Bluebook


Note 1: Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC): This Convention prohibits the development, production and retention of chemical weapons, and calls for the elimination of chemical weapons currently possessed by the countries of the world and the destruction of chemical weapons production facilities. Furthermore, the Convention creates a rigid verification system for the chemical industry and, in the event that there is suspicion of a treaty violation, it defines a system through which an inspection can be conducted on one State Party to the Convention at any time and on any facility in response to a request to that effect by another State Party. States acceding to the Convention which currently possess chemical weapons are obliged to destroy all such chemical weapons no later than 10 years after entry into force of the Convention.

Note 2: Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW): Located in The Hague, this organization will ensure the implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention and will provide a forum for cooperation and consultations among States Party based on the Convention. The Technical Secretariat of the OPCW will conduct inspections of States Party.

Note 3: London Guidelines Part 1 controls items specialized for nuclear energy, while London Guidelines Part 2 controls dual-use items which can be used for both nuclear and non-nuclear purposes.

Note 4: Named after the city in the suburb of The Hague, Netherlands where negotiations were held.

Back to Index