Japan-CARICOM Public Symposium on Climate Change and Biodiversity

August 19, 2010

A symposium on climate change and biodiversity of Caribbean region will be held in U Thant International Conference Hall, United Nations University Headquarters, on Thursday 2 September from 2pm to 5pm.

The fourteen member countries of the CARICOM (Caribbean Community) represent one of the most biologically diverse regions on the planet. However, that biodiversity is in serious danger. Most of the CARICOM member countries are small island states which now face growing threats from climate change including more frequent and intense hurricanes, subsequent flooding and erosion, and rising sea level.

The Foreign Ministers of member countries of CARICOM will visit Japan on the occasion of the 2nd Japan-CARICOM Ministerial-Level Conference that will be held in Tokyo on 1 September, 2010. Following the conference, the United Nations University, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the Inter-American Development Bank are organizing a public symposium on climate change and biodiversity where those ministers will be joined by Japanese academics and experts to discuss these pressing issues and explore further cooperation between CARICOM and Japan.

In addition, those ministers will deliver informative speeches on the diversity of culture and society of the Caribbean region as well as its economy, trade and investment environment , for the audience to understand the region further.

The news media is cordially invited to this symposium, which is free and open to the public. Japanese/English simultaneous interpretation will be provided. For more information please visit the UNU homepage <http://www.unu.edu/> and online registration can be made on <http://www.unu.edu/reg/caricom> Participation of those interested is much expected.

Note: CARICOM Member States: 14 states and 1 region
Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St. Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Montserrat (UK territory)


Back to Index