Japan-Iceland Relations (Basic Data)

July 3, 2018

Basic Data

Diplomatic Relations:

Established in 1956

Number of Residents:

  • 125 Japanese residing in Iceland (as of December, 2017)
  • 119 Icelandic residing in Japan (as of June, 2017)

Trade with Japan (as of 2017):

  • Export: 19.4 billion yen (marine products, steels)
  • Import: 7.3 billion yen (autos, electric equipments)

VIP Visits

From Japan to Iceland
Year Name
1999 Jun.Mr. Keizo Obuchi, Prime Minister
2001 Jul.Mr. Toshio Kojima, Parliamentary Secretaries for Foreign Affairs
2002 Sep.Mr. Yoshitaka Murata, Parliamentary Vice-Minister of Monetary Affairs Agency
2013 Jul.Mr. Nobuteru Ishihara, Minister of the Environment
2014 Jul.Mr. Takao Makino, Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs
2016 Aug.Japan-Iceland Parliamentarians’ Friendship League
2017 Jul. Mr. Hirokazu Matsuno, Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
2017 Jul. Members of Diet Affairs Committee, House of Councilors
2017 Sep. Members of Special Affairs Committee, House of Councilors
From Iceland to Japan
Year Name
2001 Oct.Mr. Halldór Ásgrímsson, Minister for Foreign Affairs
2001 Nov.Mr. Árni Mathiesen, Minister of Fisheries
2001 Dec.Ms. Sólveig Guðrún Pétursdóttir, Minister of Justice
2002 Nov.H.E. Ms. Vigdis Finnbogadottir, Former President
2003 Jan.Mr. Davíð Oddsson, Prime Minister
2004 Nov.Mr. Halldór Blöndal, Speaker of the Althing
2005 Jul.Mr. Halldór Ásgrímsson, Prime Minister
2005 Sep.Mr. David Oddsson, Minister for Foreign Affairs
2006 Dec.Ms. Valgerður Sverrisdóttir, Minister for Foreign Affairs
2010 Nov.Mr. Össur Skarphéðinsson, Minister for Foreign Affairs
2014 Feb.Mr. Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson, Minister of Fisheries and Agriculture
2014 Nov.Mr. Gunnar Bragi Sveinsson, Minister for Foreign Affairs
2015 Mar.Ms. Ólöf Nordal, Minister of the Interior
2016 Mar.Members of Parliament
2017 Nov. Mr. Kristjan Skarphedinsson, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Industries and Innovation
2018 Feb. H.E. Mr. Olafur Ragnar Grimsson, Former President
2018 May Mr. Gudlaugur Thor Thordarson, Minister of Foreign Affairs