Press Releases

Members of the International Group of Eminent Persons for a World without Nuclear Weapons

December 2, 2022

The first meeting of the International Group of Eminent Persons for a World without Nuclear Weapons (IGEP) will be held in Hiroshima on December 10 and 11.

  1. Prime Minister KISHIDA Fumio announced the establishment of the IGEP as a forum in which participants from both nuclear and non-nuclear-weapon States will, aided by the involvement of incumbent and former political leaders around the globe, exchange ideas and thoughts beyond their respective national positions and engage in candid discussions concerning a concrete path towards the realization of a world without nuclear weapons.
  2. Professor SHIRAISHI Takashi, Chancellor of the Prefectural University of Kumamoto, will chair the IGEP which consists of 15 members. There will be 3 Japanese members including Professor SHIRAISHI while there will be 12 non-Japanese members including those from both nuclear and non-nuclear-weapon States.
  3. For the first meeting of the IGEP, there will be video messages on Dec 10 featuring political leaders including former U.S. President Barack Obama and UN Secretary-General António Guterres.

[Members of the International Group of Eminent Persons for a World without Nuclear Weapons]

Shiraishi Takashi (Chair) Chancellor, Prefectural University of Kumamoto
Angela Kane Former Under-Secretary-General and High Representative for Disarmament Affairs of the United Nations
Rose Gottemoeller Former U.S. Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security Affairs
Takamizawa Nobushige Visiting Professor, Graduate School of Public Policy, the University of Tokyo
George Perkovich Vice President for studies at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Gustavo Zlauvinen President of the 10th NPT Review Conference
Ian Anthony Programme Director, European Security, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, SIPRI
Bruno Tertrais Deputy Director, Foundation for Strategic Research
Dina Kawar Ambassador of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan to the United States
Raden Mohammad Marty Muliana Natalegawa Former Minister for Foreign Affairs of Indonesia
Manpreet Sethi Distinguished Fellow, Centre for Air Power Studies
Akiyama Nobumasa Dean, School of International and Public Policy, Hitotsubashi University
Tanya Ogilvie-White Research Director, Asia-Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament
Anton Khlopkov Director of Center for Energy and Security Studies (CENESS)
Tong Zhao Senior Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; Visiting Research Scholar, Princeton University
Back to Press Releases