Press Releases

The 16th Japan International MANGA Award Winner Announcement

December 21, 2022
  1. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs holds the Japan International MANGA Award in order to commend manga artists who have contributed to the promotion of manga culture overseas and international cultural exchanges through manga. This year marks its 16th anniversary and the Ministry received 503 entries from 77 countries and regions, which replaced last year’s record-high number of entries.
  2. Following the selection process carried out in cooperation with the Association of Manga Publishers and the selection committee of the award led by Ms. SATONAKA Machiko, a manga artist, a total of 15 winners, including one Gold Award winner and three Silver Award winners, were selected.
  3. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs will hold the presentation ceremony of the 16th Japan International MANGA Award in Tokyo in March 2023.
  4. Winners
  • (1) Gold Award
     Title of Work: In summer
     Artist: seong ryul (ROK)
  • (2) Silver Award
     Title of Work: Lost Letters
     Artist: Jim Bishop (France)

     Title of Work: See You In Memories
     Artist: PEN SO (Hong Kong)

     Title of Work: Sea You There and Us
     Artist: Monday Recover (Taiwan)
     Original author: CHEN,CHIAO JUNG(Taiwan)
(Reference1)Japan International MANGA Award

 The Ministry of Foreign Affairs founded the Japan International MANGA Award in 2007 for the purpose of expanding international exchange and mutual understanding through world-famous manga culture.
 This award aims to honor manga artists who contribute to the development of manga culture in the world.


 There were 503 entries from 77 countries and regions this year, which was record-high number of entries. Countries and regions with most entries are Taiwan (1st: 83 entries), China (2nd: 65 entries), Indonesia (3rd: 22 entries).

(Reference3)Members of the Selection Committee of the Award

 Ms. SATONAKA Machiko, Manga Artist 【Chairperson】
 Mr. AKAMATSU Ken, Manga Artist
 Mr. OSHIMA Makoto, Former Editor in Chief
 Ms. NAGANO Noriko, Manga Artist
 Mr. YOSHITOME Hiroyuki, Former Editor in Chief

(Reference4)Members of the Executive Committee of the Award

 Mr. HAYASHI Yoshimasa, Minister for Foreign Affairs【Chairperson】
 Mr. UMEMOTO Kazuyoshi, President, Japan Foundation
 Ms. SHIRAISHI Saya, Professor Emeritus, Tokyo University
 Mr. SUGIYAMA Kotaro, President, LIGHTPUBLICITY Co. Ltd.,
 Mr. Frederik L. SCHODT, Translator, Interpreter and Writer
 Mr. MARUSAWA Shigeru, Executive Managing Director, SHOGAKUKAN INC.

Back to Press Releases