DECISION No. 1/2025 OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE UNDER THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND AND JAPAN FOR A COMPREHENSIVE ECONOMIC PARTNERSHIP of 10 June 2025

on an update of the list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators

THE JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement between the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (the "UK") and Japan for a Comprehensive Economic Partnership, done at Tokyo on 23 October 2020 ("UK-Japan CEPA"), and in particular paragraph 1 of Article 22.9 and Article 23.2 thereof; and

Having regard to the decision No. 1/2023 of the Joint Committee under UK-Japan CEPA, adopted on 29 October 2023, on the establishment of the list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators is updated as set out in Annex I to this decision.

Article 2

This decision will come into operation on the date of its adoption.

For the Joint Committee

Co-Chair for Japan

Co-Chair for the United Kingdom

Iwaya Jakushi

ANNEX I

LIST OF ARBITRATORS REFERRED TO IN PARAGRAPH 1 OF ARTICLE 22.9 OF THE UK-JAPAN CEPA

Sub-list for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

- 1. Stuart HARBINSON
- 2. Ian FORRESTER QC
- 3. Jan Yves Natalie REMY
- 4. Jesse G. KREIER
- 5. Maurice MENDELSON QC

Sub-list for Japan

- 1. ARAKI Ichiro
- 2. KAWAI Kozo
- 3. SAKAI Hironobu
- 4. SAIKI Naoko
- 5. SHIMIZU Akio

<u>Sub-list of individuals who are not nationals of either Party and who shall act as the</u> chairperson of the panel

- 1. David UNTERHALTER (South Africa)
- 2. Penelope J. RIDINGS (New Zealand)
- 3. Zachary DOUGLAS (Australia)
- 4. Jennifer A. HILLMAN (United States)
- 5. William J. DAVEY (United States)
- 6. Claudia OROZCO (Colombia)