Multilateral Sanctions Monitoring Team (MSMT) Steering Committee Inaugural Meeting Joint Statement

February 2025

The Governments of Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, the United Kingdom, and the United States held the inaugural meeting of the Multilateral Sanctions Monitoring Team (MSMT) Steering Committee in Washington, DC on February 19, 2025. The MSMT's purpose is to assist the full implementation of UN Security Council resolutions (UNSCRs) on the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) by publishing reports and information based on rigorous inquiry into relevant sanctions violations and evasion attempts as well as successful enforcement efforts. The MSMT was established in October 2024 following Russia's veto in March 2024, which disbanded the UN Security Council's 1718 Committee Panel of Experts.

The participating states of the MSMT are aligned in our commitment to uphold international peace and security, safeguard the global nonproliferation regime, and address the threat arising from the DPRK's weapons of mass destruction (WMD) and ballistic missile programs. The MSMT Steering Committee underscores our shared determination to fully implement relevant UNSCRs regarding the DPRK. We reaffirm that the path to dialogue remains open, and call on all states to join global efforts to maintain international peace and security in the face of ongoing threats from the DPRK and those that facilitate its UNSCR violations.