## DECISION No 2/2019 OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE UNDER THE AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE EUROPEAN UNION AND JAPAN FOR AN ECONOMIC

### **PARTNERSHIP**

of 26 August 2019

on the establishment of the list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators

THE JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement between the European Union and Japan for an Economic Partnership (the EU-Japan EPA), signed in Tokyo on 17 July 2018, and in particular paragraph 1 of Article 21.9 and Article 22.2 thereof,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The list of individuals who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators is established as set out in the Annex.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

#### **ANNEX**

# LIST OF ARBITRATORS REFERRED TO IN PARAGRAPH 1 OF ARTICLE 21.9 OF THE EU-JAPAN EPA

### Sub-list for the European Union

- 1. Laurence BOISSON DE CHAZOURNES
- 2. Pieter Jan KUIJPER
- 3. Hélène RUIZ FABRI
- 4. Giorgio SACERDOTI

### **Sub-list for Japan**

- 1. Ichiro ARAKI
- 2. Kozo KAWAI
- 3. Shotaro OSHIMA
- 4. Hironobu SAKAI
- 5. Akio SHIMIZU

### <u>Sub-list of individuals who are not nationals of either Party and who shall act as chairperson of the panel</u>

- 1. William DAVEY (United States)
- 2. Armand DE MESTRAL (Canada)
- 3. Christian HÄBERLI (Switzerland)
- 4. Jennifer A. HILLMAN (United States)
- 5. Merit JANOW (United States)
- 6. David UNTERHALTER (South Africa)