Joint Statement agreed by consensus during the RPOC 2017 to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the MTCR

This year marks 30 years since the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) was established in 1987. During its 30-year history, the MTCR extended its membership from 7 to 35 states and has proven to be an effective multilateral nonproliferation mechanism. The export controls of related items, information sharing, and patterns of cooperation that have been cultivated over the past 30 years have significantly reduced the availability to proliferators of the equipment, technology, and knowledge needed to develop, produce, and acquire WMD missile delivery systems, without hindering legitimate trade.

The proliferation of WMD (nuclear, chemical and biological weapons) and their means of delivery remains a threat to international peace and security. In their meetings, Regime members discuss missile programs of concern, including those developed by countries under UNSCR sanctions, such as Resolution 2321, existing trends related to the proliferation of WMD missile delivery systems as well as exchange experiences on combating proliferators' procurement efforts. They also regularly update the control list of goods and technologies in order to close possible gaps that have appeared due to the scientific and technological progress, thus preventing missile proliferation.

In the years ahead, the Regime will continue to engage non-members to promote international efforts to limit the spread of missile systems capable of delivering weapons of mass destruction, as well as the technology and equipment needed to do so. Regime members will also continue their national outreach to industry and academia in order to promote awareness and transparency of MTCR export controls. As a positive example of mutually beneficial multilateral cooperation, the Regime encourages all non-member countries to support the MTCR's work and unilaterally abide by MTCR standards in the interest of international peace and security. Information on how to become a unilateral adherent to the MTCR is available at http://mtcr.info/mtcr-guidelines/. Current MTCR adherents include Estonia and Latvia.

MTCR Members Include: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and United States of America.

For more information on the MTCR please visit: www.mtcr.info.