- Strengthened Governmental Organization-

Tatsuya SHINKAWA

Director of Nuclear Accident Response Office,
Agency for Natural Resources and Energy, METI
September 10, 2014



Establishment of "Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation"

- On August 18, "Amended Nuclear Damage Compensation Facilitation Fund Act" came into force. Thus, "Nuclear Damage Compensation Facilitation Fund" has been reformed to "Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation."
- As a work for decommissioning facilitation, the new fund gives a technical advise, guidance and recommendation for TEPCO.
- Decommissioning Strategy Board in the new fund plays the leading role in conducting a specialized and continuous review on following tasks. Dr. Hajimu Yamana (Vice-president) and Masahiko Fujiwara (Executive board member) were appointed to the director in charge of decommissioning facilitation work.
 - (1) Strategy planning for important issues
 - (2) Planning and promotion of R&D
 - (3) Supporting the management of important issues
 - (4) Strengthening the international cooperation

Decommissioning Strategy Board

The highest decision-making body of department of decommissioning in the fund.

The first board meeting was held on August 21, Shunsuke Kondo was elected board chairman.

<u>Member</u> Shunsuke KONDO (chairman) Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Univ. (Former Chairman, Japan Atomic Energy commission)

Hajime ASAMA Professor, Tokyo Univ. Yuzo OHNISHI Professor, Kansai Univ. Koji OKAMOTO Professor, Tokyo Univ.

Hirofumi KAMATA Managing Executive Officer, Chief of Nuclear Facilities Division, Taisei Corporation

Keisuke TAKEUCHI Principal Corporate Advisor, JGC Corporation

Osamu TOCHIYAMA Director, Radioactive Waste Disposal SafetyResearch Center, Nuclear Safety Research Association

Shojiro MATSUURA President, Japan Atomic Energy Agency

International Special Advisor

Christophe Behar (France) Director, Nuclear Energy Division, CEA

Paul Dickman (USA) Senior Policy Fellow, Argonne National Laboratory

Mike Weightman (U.K.)

Former Chief Nuclear Inspector, Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR)

Rosa Yang (USA)

EPRI Fellow Nuclear Power, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)