The 4th Japan-SAARC (The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) Symposium on Regional Cooperation in Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

March 28, 2011

  1. The 4th Japan-SAARC Symposium in Dhaka, Bangladesh is held on March 30 and 31, co-organized by the Government of Japan, Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology (BUET) and the SAARC Secretariat.  Experts and government officials in the field of energy resources will attend the Symposium.

  2. As Japan-SAARC Symposium on energy, 3 Symposia (one at Dhaka, Bangladesh in 2006, at Islamabad, Pakistan in 2008, and at Delhi, India in 2010) have been held since Japan became an observer to SAARC in 2005, which discuss energy efficiency and renewable energy.

* The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is a relatively broad regional cooperation framework in South Asia.  The members are eight Southwest Asian countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). Participating as observers are Japan, China, United States, European Union, Republic of Korea, Iran, Mauritius, Australia, and Myanmar.

* Japan established the Japan-SAARC Special Fund in 1993 in order to build confidence among SAARC member states, stability in the region, regional connectivity.

    • (*This is a provisional translation. The above date denotes the date of the issue of the original press release in Japanese.)

Back to Index