Handling of Visas by the Japanese Embassy and Consulates-General in China for Chinese Group Tourists to Japan

May 15, 2007

  1. As this year marks the 35th year of the normalization of diplomatic relations between Japan and China, the Government of Japan has decided to start accepting from May 31 (Thu) visa proxy applications for Chinese group tourists to Japan at the Consulate-General of Japan in Shenyang and its Branch Office in Dalian.  With this, all Japanese overseas establishments in China will now handle group tourism visas.
  2. The Japanese overseas establishments that handle group tourism visas and regions covered in China after May 31 (Thu) will be:

    Embassy of Japan in the People’s Republic of China: regions other than those below.

      Consulate-General of Japan in Guangzhou: Guangdong Province
      Consulate-General of Japan in Shanghai: Shanghai City, Jiangsu Province, Zhejiang Province, Anhui Province, and Jiangxi Province
      Consulate-General of Japan in Chongqing: Chongqing City, Sichuan Province, Guizhou Province, and Yunnan Province
      Consulate-General of Japan in Shenyang: Liaoning Province (except Dalian City), Jilin   Province, and Heilongjiang Province
      Branch Office in Dalian, Consulate-General of Japan at Shenyang: Dalian City 

  3. Japan recognizes that encouraging Chinese tourists to come to Japan will be highly significant in promoting mutual understanding and friendly relations between Japan and China.  It is expected that with this new step more Chinese people will visit Japan.  Japan will also make further efforts in coordinating with relevant authorities of Japan and China, with a view to preventing an increase of illegal stay of Chinese people and their crimes.

Back to Index